Tags

I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a movie more faithful to its source material than Warcraft.  For anyone that played World of Warcraft you are going to be amazed at all the little details.  For anyone that didn’t play WoW, I don’t even really know where to begin for you.  And the movie producers didn’t either.  The accuracy to the video games is a great thing for the familiar, but for the unfamiliar I recommend a commitment to the suspension of disbelief and a healthy dose of patience, because it is going to take at least half an hour before anybody says anything that isn’t “world building.”

On the one hand, the good hand, the movie is very pretty.  Some of the best use of CGI ever.  Its obviously fake, of course, but you never care that it is. The action isn’t so bad, and once the story settles in, and decides what it wants to be, it is fine as well.  That, unfortunately, is the limits of my praise.

I’m sure that the actors are doing the best they can, its just none of them are the best at what they do.  The lack of upper level acting is my number 1, 2 and 3 complaints about the movie.  If you take the Avengers cast and replace the Warcraft with them then Warcraft is a different movie.  That is the big difference, Marvel never misses a casting choice, Warcraft might have only hit on one, and missed on most of the important ones.  The writing isn’t good either, the jokes fall flat, and the world building takes away from the plot building.

Warcraft is a better movie than the recommendation I’m about to give it.  Should you see it in the theater?  Probably not.  If you’re a fan of the game you’ve already seen it, and its chops as an action movie are middling at best.  Should you see it on Blu-Ray?  Probably not.  There will be better choices.  That pains me to say it, b/c I think Warcraft 2 will be better than this one, but financially this one will struggle domestically.  (Going to make a billion dollars in Asia though.)

