Tags

Score one point for nostalgia.  In the last week I have seen two movies that totally nailed the conversion from source material to movie screen.  Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows gets a perfect 10 for taking the old cartoon (if not necessarily the original comic books) and translating the fun parts into a movie, especially the villains.  If you were a kid in the 80s or early 90s then there will be plenty for you to savor.

The CGI was good, and I don’t believe it was off putting a single time.  The writing is bad, possibly terrible.  None of the jokes land, and there aren’t even that many attempts.  There isn’t an abundance of cheesy moments, but there are several.  The acting wasn’t good.  You know what, I’m going to say this was a poorly directed movie.  The story was actually ok for popcorn flick about mutant turtles, but the whole is less than the sum of the parts.  I know it is a silly concept, but I still want the people involved to take their involvement seriously, and it seemed more like a joke to them.

So there is a mix of some bad and some fun.  I liked it better than the first one (I believed it was awash in cheese), Jamey liked the first one better (he really thought the writing was bad).  Your kids might like it, but I’m certain that most of you that read this would rather spend your time somewhere else.  The exception would be somebody who was a big fan of the cartoon, but you’ve probably already seen it.

